" />
Published On: Sun, Mar 16th, 2014

ISA World Junior Surfing Championship returns to Ecuador in April

Share This

nsnbc: Over 300 Of The Best Junior Surfers In The World Will Gather In Salinas, Ecuador To Compete For Gold Medals And The ISA World Junior Team Champion Trophy between 5 and 13 April.

The International Surfing Association (ISA) announced that the 2014 VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship (WJSC) to take place in Salinas, Ecuador from April 5th to April 13th, 2014. Until today, surfers from more than eight countries have confirmed their participation in the wet and windy high-adrenalin event.

Hawaii’s Keanu Asing, Boys U-18 Gold Medalist, during the 2009 ISA World Junior Surfing Championship, held in the world-class waves in Salinas, Ecuador. Photo: ISA/Lobo

Hawaii’s Keanu Asing, Boys U-18 Gold Medalist, during the 2009 ISA World Junior Surfing Championship, held in the world-class waves in Salinas, Ecuador. Photo: ISA/Lobo

This is the 4th ISA World Championship to be held in Ecuador over the last decade, and the ISA’s largest event of the year, reports the organization on its website.  The most important Junior surfing event in the world has the full support of Ecuador’s President, Rafael Correa, and the country’s Ministries of Tourism and Sports, as well as the Ecuadorian Surfing Federation (FES).

“We are incredibly excited for the ISA World Junior Surfing Championship to return to Ecuador and watch the best young surfers from all over the globe compete in the world-class waves of Salinas,” said ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “Over the last ten years, it’s been exciting to watch the sport of surfing grow exponentially in Ecuador due to media exposure from ISA World Championships held there. I am looking forward to enjoying the country’s amazing waves and the wonderful hospitality of Ecuador’s President Rafael Correa, the Ministries of Tourism and Sports, the Ecuadorian Surfing Federation (FES), and its warm and welcoming people. I know this will be an incredible event.”

The ISA reports that Ecuador previously hosted the 2004 ISA World Surfing Games, the 2009 ISA World Junior Surfing Championship and the 2013 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship. Last year’s 2013 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship, held in the small coastal town of Montanita, featured high profile participants, including 2012 and 2013 ISA Grand Masters Gold Medalist Sunny Garcia, and 2013 ISA Women’s Masters Gold Medalist Layne Beachley of Australia.

“Last year’s ISA Masters in Ecuador was incredibly successful,” said Xavier Aguirre, the President of the Ecuadorian Surfing Federation. “Besides bringing tremendous media attention to the country and Ecuador’s own National Surfing Team, the World Championship helped re-invigorate the sport of surfing in our country and let us showcase our country and its incredible waves to a global audience in excess of 50 million.  We expect the ISA World Juniors to attract an even larger global audience.”

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s, Women’s and Junior’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and will crown its first World Skimboard Champions in 2014.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 77 countries in five continents. It’s headquartered in La Jolla, California and is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER), Debbie Beacham (USA) and Layne Beachley (AUS).

Ch/L – nsnbc 16.03.2014

About the Author

- nsnbc international is a daily, international online newspaper, established in 2013. nsnbc international is independent from corporate, state or foundation funding and non-partisan. nsnbc occasionally republishes selected articles from other media. Republication of articles does not imply that we agree with media's editorial policy. nsnbc international is free to read and free to subscribe to. We appreciate and depend on modest donations from our regular readers; such as the equivalent of the price of one print newspaper per month.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>